“Love at First ‘Sting’…”

I think love has something to do with allowing a person you claim to love to enter a larger arena than the one you create for them. Sting

I can’t fly a flag for monogamy or whatever the opposite is; it depends on the person and on the situation. Sting

Gordon Matthew Thomas Sumner (born 2 October 1951), known by his stage name Sting, is an English musician, singer-songwriter, multi-instrumentalist, activist, actor and philanthropist. He is best known as the principal songwriter, lead singer and bassist for the rock band The Police before launching a solo career.

Sting performed in jazz bands on evenings, weekends, and during breaks from college and from teaching. He played with local jazz bands such as the Phoenix Jazzmen, the Newcastle Big Band, and Last Exit. He gained his nickname after he performed wearing a black and yellow sweater with hooped stripes while onstage with the Phoenix Jazzmen. Bandleader Gordon Solomon thought that the sweater made him look like a bee, which prompted the nickname “Sting“.

In the 1985 documentary Bring on the Night he was addressed by a journalist as “Gordon”, and replied: “My children call me Sting, my mother calls me Sting, who is this Gordon character?” In a 2011 interview for Time magazine, he stated: “I was never called ‘Gordon’. You could shout ‘Gordon’ in the street and I would just move out of your way.”

My friends are Peter Gabriel, Bruce Springsteen, and we’re singing about mortality, getting older. It’s an interesting time. Sting.

I see songs not as a commodity used up when the album goes off the charts, which is often the case with pop songs. I see them as a body of work. Life should be breathed into them. Sting.

Sting has varied his musical style, incorporating distinct elements of jazz, reggae, classical, New Age, and worldbeat into his music

I’m very much afraid of being mad – that’s my one fear. Sting.

The acceptance of death gives you more of a stake in life, in living life happily, as it should be lived. Living for the moment. Sting

I made two movies before The Police had a hit record: I did Quadrophenia and a film called Radio On. I really wanted to work with David Lynch. I was a big fan of The Elephant Man and Eraserhead

I try to give the media as many confusing images as I can to retain my freedom. What’s real is for my children and the people I live with. One of the rewards of success is freedom, the ability to do whatever you like.

The Sting, a 1973 film starring Paul Newman and Robert Redford

Sting (wrestler) (born 1959), American professional wrestler

One thought on ““Love at First ‘Sting’…”

  1. Pingback: when someone is secretly watching.. |

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Welcome to the Underrated

"For the Love of Music"

ickyblog

sobre una vida más

annotated audrey art

Desert Artist & Coloring Book Illustrator.

The Wine Wankers

G’day, you’re at the best wine blog ever! We're all about wine; without the wankery.

Software escuela

Software escuela

TIME

Current & Breaking News | National & World Updates

THE AMAZING KORNYFONE LABEL

Cover Art Appreciation & the Stories Behind the Recordings on Classic Vinyl Bootlegs

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

The Cool Muse / La Musa Molona

"The Cool Muse: Proudly tormenting friends and family with paintings of doubtful quality since MMII" "

1 SIGFRIDSSON

ON = TIME

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, LOST BOYS FAN & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

J.M. Weselby @ Magpie Creative Writing Services

because all writers are magpies at heart...

EXISTENTIAL THEORY

blogging home of Moses Y. Mikheyev

