“Work,…a Blessing or a Curse?”‏

“Choose a job you love, and you will never have to work a day in your life”. Confucius

“I can’t imagine anything more worthwhile than doing what I most love. And they pay me for it”. Edgar Winter

 

“Work is the curse of the drinking classes”. Oscar Wilde

Well I get up at seven, yeah
And I go to work at nine
I got no time for livin’ yeah
I’m workin all the time.

It seems to me
I could live my life
A lot better than I think I am
I guess that’s why they call me,
They call me the working man.

They call me the working man
I guess that’s what I am

I get home at five o’clock
And I take myself out a nice cold beer
Always seem to be wonderin
Why there’s nothin’ goin’ down here.

It seems to me
I could live my life
A lot better than I think I am
I guess that’s why they call me,
The workin’ man

They call me the working man
I guess that’s what I am
Well they call me the working man
I guess that’s what I am

Well I get up at seven yeah
And I go to work at nine
I got no time for livin’ yeah
I’m workin all the time.

It seems to me
I could live my life
A lot better than I think I am
I guess that’s why they call me,
They call me the working man.

They call me the working man
I guess that’s what I am

Songwriter(s): Michael Bloomfield, Nicholas George Gravenites, Daniel Coulter Reynolds, Daniel Wayne Sermon, Alex Lifeson, Geddy Lee, Benjamin Arthur Mckee

“It is the working man who is the happy man. It is the idle man who is the miserable man”. Benjamin Franklin

work (n.):
Old English weorc, worc “something done, deed, action, proceeding, business, military fortification,”

In Old English, the noun also had the sense of “fornication.” Workhouse in the sense of “place where the poor or petty criminals are lodged” first appeared 1650s. Works “industrial place” (usually with qualifying adj.) is attested from 1580s.

“Working hard and working smart sometimes can be two different things”. Byron Dorgan

“To find joy in work is to discover the fountain of youth”. Pearl S. Buck

“Work is love made visible. And if you cannot work with love but only with distaster, it is better that you should leave your work and sit at the gate of the temple and take alms of those who work with joy”. Khalil Gibran

LAZY

“Laziness may appear attractive, but work gives satisfaction”. Anne Frank

You’re lazy you just stay in bed
Oh you’re lazy just stay in bed
Don’t want no money you don’t want no bread

If you’re drowning you don’t clutch no straw no
If you’re drowning you don’t clutch no straw
You don’t want to live don’t want to cry no more

Well my trying ain’t done no good
I said “My trying ain’t done no good”
You don’t make no effort no not like you should

Lazy you just stay in bed
Lazy you stay in bed
You don’t want no money you don’t want no bread

Songwriter(s): Roger Roger

“Without work, all life goes rotten. But when work is soulless, life stifles and dies”. Albert Camus

WORKING FROM HOME

“When a man tells you that he got rich through hard work, ask him: ‘Whose?’ Don Marquis

“My old man was a workaholic: every time he thought about work, he got drunk.” …Old Rodney Dangerfield joke

  Modern Times is a 1936 comedy film written and directed by Charlie Chaplin in which his iconic Little Tramp character struggles to survive in the modern, industrialized world. The film is a comment on the desperate employment and fiscal conditions many people faced during the Great Depression, conditions created, in Chaplin’s view, by the efficiencies of modern industrialization. The movie stars Chaplin, Paulette Goddard, Henry Bergman, Stanley Sandford and Chester Conklin.

 During a European tour promoting City Lights, Chaplin got the inspiration for Modern Times from both the lamentable conditions of the continent through the Great Depression, along with a conversation with Mahatma Gandhi in which Gandhi complained about “machinery with only consideration of profit”

 According to the official documents, the music score was composed by Chaplin himself, and arranged with the assistance of Alfred Newman. The romance theme was later given lyrics, and became the pop standard “Smile”, first recorded by Nat King Cole

The film exhibits notable similarities to a 1931 French film directed by René Clair entitled À nous la liberté (Liberty for Us) — the assembly line sequence is a clear instance

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Welcome to the Underrated

"For the Love of Music"

ickyblog

sobre una vida más

annotated audrey art

Desert Artist & Coloring Book Illustrator.

The Wine Wankers

G’day, you’re at the best wine blog ever! We're all about wine; without the wankery.

Software escuela

Software escuela

TIME

Current & Breaking News | National & World Updates

THE AMAZING KORNYFONE LABEL

Cover Art Appreciation & the Stories Behind the Recordings on Classic Vinyl Bootlegs

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

The Cool Muse / La Musa Molona

"The Cool Muse: Proudly tormenting friends and family with paintings of doubtful quality since MMII" "

1 SIGFRIDSSON

ON = TIME

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, MADS MIKKELSEN FAN, & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

Storymedic

Professional Editor

J.M. Weselby @ Magpie Creative Writing Services

because all writers are magpies at heart...

