“Carrey on”‏

“Life opens up opportunities to you, and you either take them or you stay afraid of taking them”. Jim Carrey

“I really believe in the philosophy that you create your own universe. I’m just trying to create a good one for myself”. Jim Carrey

James Eugene “Jim” Carrey (born January 17, 1962) is a Canadian Americanactor, comedian, and producer.

“My focus is to forget the pain of life. Forget the pain, mock the pain, reduce it. And laugh”. Jim Carrey

James Eugene Carrey was born in Newmarket, Ontario, Canada, to Kathleen (née Oram), a homemaker, and Percy Carrey (1927–1994), a musician and accountant. He has three older siblings, John, Patricia, and Rita. He was raised Roman Catholic. His mother was of French, Irish, and Scottish descent and his father had French ancestry (the family’s original surname was Carré)

“My father was a musician who got a “regular job” to support his children. When he lost his job that’s when everything fell apart. We went from “lower middle class” to “poor”. We were living out of a van. I quit school at age 15 to begin working to help support my family as a janitor. I’d have a baseball bat on my janitor cart because I was so angry I just wanted to beat the heck out of something”. Jim Carrey

“I know this sounds strange, but as a kid, I was really shy. Painfully shy. The turning point was freshman year, when I was the biggest geek alive. No one, I mean no one, even talked to me”. Jim Carrey

“I praticed making faces in the mirror and it would drive my mother crazy. She used to scare me by saying that I was going to see the devil if I kept looking in the mirror. That fascinated me even more, of course”. Jim Carrey

“For some reason I did something where I realized I could get a reaction. That was when I broke out of my shell at school, because I really didn’t have any friends or anything like that and I just kind of was going along, and then finally I did this zany thing, and all of a sudden I had tons of friends”. Jim Carrey

While Carrey was struggling to obtain work and make a name for himself, his father tried to help the young comedian put together a stage act, driving him to Toronto to debut at comedy club Yuk Yuk’s. Carrey’s impersonations bombed and this gave him doubts about his capabilities as a professional entertainer. His family’s financial struggles made it difficult for them to support Carrey’s ambitions. Eventually, the family’s financial problems were resolved and they moved into a new home. With more domestic stability, Carrey returned to the stage with a more polished act. In a short period of time, he went from open-mic nights to regular paid shows, building his reputation in the process.

“Before I do anything, I think, well what hasn’t been seen. Sometimes, that turns out to be something ghastly and not fit for society. And sometimes that inspiration becomes something that’s really worthwhile”. Jim Carrey

A reviewer in the Toronto Star raved that Carrey was “a genuine star coming to life”. Carrey was soon noticed by comedian Rodney Dangerfield, who signed the young comic to open his tour performances. Dangerfield eventually brought Carrey to Las Vegas. Carrey soon decided to move to Hollywood, where he began performing at The Comedy Store and, in 1982, appeared on the televised stand-up show An Evening at the Improv. The following year, he debuted his act on The Tonight Show.

“Creative people don’t behave very well generally. If you’re looking for examples of good relationships in show business, you’re gonna be depressed real fast. I don’t have time for anything else right now but work and my daughter. She’s my first priority”. Jim Carrey

“Maybe other people will try to limit me but I don’t limit myself”. Jim Carrey

Despite his increasing popularity as a stand-up comic, Carrey turned his attention to the film and television industries, auditioning to be a cast member for the 1980–1981 season of NBC’s Saturday Night Live. Carrey was not selected for the position, although he did host the show in May 1996, and again in January 2011. He was cast in several low-budget films, including Rubberface (1981), in which he played a struggling young comic, and Copper Mountain (1983), in which he played a sex-starved teen.

“I think I could go away tomorrow. I’ve already accomplished something. It’s such a selfish business that sometimes I get sick of myself”. Jim Carrey

“I love playing ego and insecurity combined”. Jim Carrey

“I really want to love somebody. I do. I just don’t know if it’s possible forever and ever”. Jim Carrey

Carrey has been married twice. His first marriage was to former actress and Comedy Store waitress Melissa Womer, whom he married on March 28, 1987. Their daughter Jane Erin Carrey was born September 6, 1987. Jane was a 2012 contestant on American Idol. The two divorced in 1995. A year later Carrey married his Dumb and Dumber co-star Lauren Holly, on September 23, 1996; the marriage lasted less than a year.

“I’m so wrapped up in my work that it’s often impossible to consider other things in my life. My marriage ended in divorce because of this, my relationship with Holly has suffered by this”. Jim Carrey

In the late 1990s and early 2000s, Carrey was involved in a series of relationships, including Laurie Holden, January Jones, and Anine Bing. In addition, Carrey had a much-publicized yet short-lived romance with his Me, Myself and Irene co-star Renée Zellweger, whom he dated, and at one point was engaged to from 1999 to 2000.

“I’m a hard guy to live with. I’m like a caged animal. I’m up all night walking around the living room. It’s hard for me to come down from what I do”. Jim Carrey

Carrey met model and actress Jenny McCarthy in 2005 and made their relationship public in June 2006. In April 2010, the two ended their near five-year relationship. Despite the split and media circulations, McCarthy stated in October 2010 that, “Jim and I are still good friends”.

“I refuse to feel guilty. I feel guilty about too much in my life but not about money. I went through periods when I had nothing, so somebody in my family has to get stinkin’ wealthy”. Jim Carrey

Jim Carrey filmography

The Sex and Violence Family Hour (1983)
Copper Mountain (1983)
All in Good Taste (1983)
Finders Keepers (1984)
Once Bitten (1985)
Peggy Sue Got Married (1986)
The Dead Pool (1988)
Earth Girls Are Easy (1989)
Pink Cadillac (1989)
High Strung (1991)
The Itsy Bitsy Spider (1992)
Doing Time on Maple Drive (1992)
Ace Ventura: Pet Detective (1994)
The Mask (1994)

Dumb and Dumber (1994)
Batman Forever (1995)
Ace Ventura: When Nature Calls (1995)
The Cable Guy (1996)
Liar Liar (1997)


The Truman Show (1998)

“What I have in common with the character in ‘Truman’ is this incredible need to please people. I feel like I want to take care of everyone and I also feel this terrible guilt if I am unable to. And I have felt this way ever since all this success started”. Jim Carrey

“It was such a leap in my career when ‘Truman Show’ came along. It’s always been a long process for me insofar as recognition goes, but that’s OK because you appreciate it when it comes”.  Jim Carrey

Simon Birch (1998)
Man on the Moon (1999)
Me, Myself & Irene (2000)
Dr. Seuss’ How the Grinch Stole Christmas (2000)
The Majestic (2001)
Pecan Pie (2003)
Bruce Almighty (2003)

“Morgan Freeman is so class. He’s so cool. He’s so scary”. Jim Carrey

Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind (2004)
Lemony Snicket’s A Series of Unfortunate Events (2004)
Fun with Dick and Jane (2005)
The Number 23 (2007)
Horton Hears a Who! (2008)
Yes Man (2008)

I Love You Phillip Morris (2009)
A Christmas Carol (2009)
Mr. Popper’s Penguins (2011)
The Incredible Burt Wonderstone (2013)
Kick-Ass 2 (2013)
Anchorman 2: The Legend Continues (2013)
Dumb and Dumber To (2014)

“I don’t care if people think I am an overactor, as long as they enjoy what I do. People who think that would call Van Gogh an overpainter”. Jim Carrey

“Originality is really important”. Jim Carrey

Leave a Reply

ultimatemindsettoday

A great WordPress.com site

Welcome to the Underrated

"For the Love of Music"

ickyblog

sobre una vida más

annotated audrey art

Desert Artist & Coloring Book Illustrator.

The Wine Wankers

G’day, you’re at the best wine blog ever! We're all about wine; without the wankery.

Software escuela

Software escuela

TIME

Current & Breaking News | National & World Updates

THE AMAZING KORNYFONE LABEL

Cover Art Appreciation & the Stories Behind the Recordings on Classic Vinyl Bootlegs

Beautiful Life with Cancer

Discovering the Gift

The Cool Muse / La Musa Molona

"The Cool Muse: Proudly tormenting friends and family with paintings of doubtful quality since MMII" "

1 SIGFRIDSSON

ON = TIME

meganelizabethmorales

MANNERS MAKETH MAN, MADS MIKKELSEN FAN, & PERPETAUL CREATIVITY.

J.M. Weselby @ Magpie Creative Writing Services

because all writers are magpies at heart...

EXISTENTIAL THEORY

blogging home of Moses Y. Mikheyev

